Nigeria Independence




Welcome to class!

In today’s class, we will be talking about Nigeria independence. Enjoy the class!


Nigeria was colonized by Britain. She became an independent nation on October 1st, 1960. Nationalists such as Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe, Sir Tafawa Balewa and Chief Obafemi Awolowo fought for Nigeria’s independence


Chief Obafemi Awolowo                                     Sir Tafawa Balewa                                                 Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe

At independence, the British Union Jack (the British flag) was lowered and the Nigerian flag was flown. The British anthem as replaced by the Nigerian anthem and pledge. Also, our currency was later changed from the British pounds, pence and shillings to the naira and kobo in 1973.


Nigerian Flag                                                                                                                 British Flag.

Following independence, Nigerians began to rule the country. Dr. Nnamdi Azikiwe became the governor general and later the first president of Nigeria. Sir Tafawa Balewa became the first and only Nigerian prime minister.


  1. Nigeria gained her independence in ——————–
  2. Following the independence, the country, Nigeria was ruled by—————
  3. Who was the first and only prime minister ———————————-
  4. Who was the first president of Nigeria?


In our next class, we will be talking about Ethnic group in Nigeria. We hope you enjoyed the class?

Should you have any further question, feel free to ask in the comment section below and trust us to respond as soon as possible.

Get more class notes, videos, homework help, exam practice on Android [DOWNLOAD]

Get more class notes, videos, homework help, exam practice on iPhone [DOWNLOAD]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don`t copy text!