Welcome to class! 

In today’s class, we will be talking about the branches of visual arts. Enjoy the class!

Branches of Visual Arts

Visual arts is subdivided into a fine and applied arts. Fine arts include those categories of artworks that are created primarily for aesthetic purposes. Applied arts capture the category of functional artworks or object with their aesthetic attributes still in place.

  • Fine Art:

Fine art which denotes the attributes of aesthetics and emotional appeal is categorized underdrawing, painting and sculpture.

  • Drawing:

Drawing is a means of making an image using a wide variety of tools and techniques.

Techniques of drawing

Drawing which is a two-dimensional art can be rendered with different techniques, some of the main techniques are line drawing, hatching, cross-hatching, scribbling, blending and pointillism.

  • Painting:

Painting is the interpretation of tone through the medium of colour drawn with a brush or the applying colour through a medium to a surface such as paper, canvas, a wood panel in line with the principles of drawing, composition and aesthetics. A person who implements the procedure in creating a painting is known as a painter.

  • Sculpture:

The sculpture is a branch of fine art that is rendered in three-dimensional form. A sculptural object could be created either in relief form or in the round. Carving is described as a subtractive process because some of the areas identified by the artist as negative are chipped away to create an ideal artwork of the positive space while modelling is termed as an additive process because of its ability to mould or model as free as possible. The artist that creates sculptural works is known as a sculptor.

  • Graphic:

Graphics is communication and commercial that is typically two- dimensional and covers a broad range of art forms like calligraphy or printmaking, lithography and bindery.

  • Printmaking:

Printmaking is the art of re-production where a master plate is developed from which multiple images are made. There are four main types of printmaking namely:

  1. Relief printing
  2. Intaglio
  3. Lithography
  4. Serigraphy
  • Textile:

Textile art is the category of art that uses plant, animal or fibre materials such as cloth weaving, to create functional and decorative objects, using the elements and principles of design.

  • Ceramics:

Ceramics is the art made from inorganic and non- metallic material, fashioned into fine objects, fired for durability into finished utilitarian pieces that are essential for our daily needs.

  • Architecture:

Architecture can be defined as the art of designing and building structures into a usable, but pleasing form. It has the ability to manipulate space, volume, texture, light, form, technical, social, environment and aesthetic values.

  • Photography:

The word ‘photography’ is credited to Sir John Herschel in 1939 who coined it from the Greek word “phos”[ photos] meaning “light” and “graphein” meaning “to draw” guided by the artistic interpretation that it was the art drawing with light. It was said to be an art form invented in the 1800s which has become a medium of limitless possibilities.


In our next class, we will be talking about the Branches of Non-visual Arts.  We hope you enjoyed the class.

Should you have any further question, feel free to ask in the comment section below and trust us to respond as soon as possible.

Get more class notes, videos, homework help, exam practice etc on our app [CLICK HERE]

Upgrade your teaching with ready-made & downloadable class notes on our app [CLICK HERE]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Don`t copy text!